First Amendment Awards

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press recognizes journalism and media law leaders at its First Amendment Awards Dinner.

The awards dinner, held in either New York or Washington, is a major fundraising event for the Reporters Committee.

Photos and remarks from the Sept. 27, 2012 awards dinner in Washington are posted online.

Previous First Amendment Award winners:


Fred Graham
Reporters Committee Founding Member
Honored with the first Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press Distinguished Service Award

Josh Gerstein
Brian Lamb
C-SPAN Networks
Barbara W. Wall
Gannett Co. Inc.


Carl Bernstein
Lesley Stahl
CBS News, "60 Minutes"
Kurt Wimmer
Covington & Burling LLP
Bob Woodward
The Washington Post


Tom Curley
The Associated Press
Mark Goodman
Student Press Law Center
Colbert I. King
The Washington Post
Nina Totenberg
National Public Radio

Special Recognition:
Charles Overby
The Freedom Forum/Newseum


Floyd Abrams
Cahill, Gordon & Reindel
Molly Ivins
Syndicated Columnist
Mike Wallace
CBS News, "60 Minutes"

Special Recognition:
Hodding Carter
The Knight Foundation


Katharine Graham
The Washington Post


Jack Nelson
Los Angeles Times


Herb Block
The Washington Post
Ben Bradlee
The Washington Post
John Chancellor
NBC News
A.M. Rosenthal
The New York Times