Mauro elected chairman of Reporters Committee

Press Release | May 24, 2012

Tony Mauro, U.S. Supreme Court correspondent for The National Law Journal, was elected Steering Committee chairman of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press at its biannual meeting this week.

Elected as chairman-elect was Jim Rubin, legal affairs editor at Bloomberg News. Saundra Torry, editorial writer at USA Today, was elected secretary-treasurer.

Steering Committee members re-elected to three-year terms were: Fred Graham, a founding member of the Reporters Committee; John C. Henry, freelance journalist and immediate past chairman; Bill Nichols, managing editor of Politico; and Sandra Peddie, investigative reporter at Newsday.

Newly elected to the Steering Committee were Jane Mayer, contributor to The New Yorker, and John McKinnon, a correspondent for The Wall Street Journal.

Steering Committee members continuing their terms are: J. Scott Applewhite, senior photojournalist, The Associated Press; Wolf Blitzer, lead political anchor and anchor of “The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer,” CNN; David Boardman, executive editor and senior vice president, The Seattle Times; Chip Bok, editorial cartoonist, Creators Syndicate; Erika Bolstad, Washington correspondent, McClatchy Newspapers; Michael Duffy, executive editor, Time magazine; Richard S. Dunham, Washington bureau chief, Houston Chronicle; Ashlea Ebeling, associate editor, Forbes Media LLC; Nat Hentoff, columnist, Universal Uclick.

Also: Dahlia Lithwick, senior editor, Slate; Doyle McManus, Washington columnist, Los Angeles Times; Andrea Mitchell, chief foreign affairs correspondent and host of “Andrea Mitchell Reports,” NBC News; Maggie Mulvihill, co-founder and co-director/senior investigative producer, New England Center for Investigative Reporting at Boston University; Bob Schieffer, chief Washington correspondent and anchor of “Face the Nation,” CBS News; Eric Schmitt, senior writer/Washington correspondent, The New York Times; Alicia Shepard, freelance journalist/media consultant; Paul Steiger, editor in chief and president and chief executive, ProPublica; Pierre Thomas, senior Justice Department correspondent, ABC News; and Judy Woodruff, senior correspondent and co-anchor, PBS NewsHour.

About the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

Founded in 1970, the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press offers free legal support to thousands of working journalists and media lawyers each year. It is a leader in the fight against persistent efforts by government officials to impede the release of public information, whether by withholding documents or threatening reporters with jail. In addition to its 24/7 Legal Defense Hotline, the Reporters Committee conducts cutting-edge legal research, publishes handbooks and guides on media law issues, files frequent friend-of-the-court legal briefs and offers challenging fellowships and internships for young lawyers and journalists. For more information, go to, or follow us on Twitter @rcfp.

Related Reporters Committee resources:

· Steering Committee