Reporters Committee Calendar of Events


To view webinars on media law and free press issues, visit our online webinar library.

Fundraisers and Benefits

Reporters Committee First Amendment Awards Dinner

Some 500 people gathered at The Pierre in New York City to celebrate four champions of a free press at the 2014 Reporters Committee First Amendment Awards Dinner.

Honored for their commitment to the First Amendment and the ideals of a free press were: Sharon Percy Rockefeller, president and CEO, WETA; Carol Rosenberg, military affairs correspondent, The Miami Herald; Bruce W. Sanford, partner, BakerHostetler; and Arthur O. Sulzberger Jr., chairman and publisher, The New York Times. Dinner co-chairs were Donald A. Baer, worldwide chairman and CEO, Burson-Marsteller, and chairman, Penn Schoen Berland; and Donald E. Graham, chairman and CEO, Graham Holdings Company. Special Guest Speaker was Kathleen Carroll, senior vice president and executive editor, The Associated Press.

For photos and remarks, please go to the 2014 First Amendment Awards Dinner page.

For a look back at the 2012 dinner in Washington, please see the 2012 First Amendment Awards Dinner page.

Speaking at

Reporters Committee media law experts frequently serve as panelists, keynoters and workshop leaders at journalism and legal conferences around the country. If you would like to invite someone to join your event, please contact us at 703-807-2100 or send an email to

Free Media Law Workshops

Journalists working in digital and non-profit media in New York, Chicago, Boston, Minneapolis, Denver and Miami have participated in free, daylong media law workshops taught by legal staff at the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. For more information on coordinating a workshop near you, contact the Reporters Committee at 703-807-2100 or send an email to