Skip to content

2018 Freedom of the Press Awards

On May 22, 2018 we held our annual Freedom of the Press Awards, recognizing leaders in journalism and media law at The Pierre Hotel in New York City. This year, we presented awards to Dean Baquet, Executive Editor, The New York Times, Lynn Novick, Documentary Filmmaker, Florentine Films, Robert Siegel, Former Senior Host, NPR’s “All Things Considered,” and Nabiha Syed, Vice President of Legal and Associate General Counsel, BuzzFeed News (Nabiha received the inaugural Rising Star Award).

A special thank you to our 2018 dinner chairs:

Donald A. Baer, Global Chairman, Burson Cohn & Wolfe
Paula Kerger, President and CEO – PBS
John A. Herrmann, Jr.,  Senior Advisor – Lincoln International
Arthur Sulzberger, Jr., Chairman – The New York Times Company

Watch the Awards on YouTube, read the full recap of the event, or browse the photo gallery. We hope you’ll be back for the 2019 Freedom of the Press Awards!

Stay informed by signing up for our mailing list

Keep up with our work by signing up to receive our monthly newsletter. We'll send you updates about the cases we're doing with journalists, news organizations, and documentary filmmakers working to keep you informed.