Skip to content

Steering Committee

Members of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press Steering Committee serve three-year terms, with a third of the members being elected each year. An Executive Committee acts as direct advisors to Reporters Committee senior staff.

Executive Committee

Stephen J. Adler

Vice Chair
Margaret Low

Massimo Calabresi


David Boardman
Klein College of Media and Communication
Temple University

Manny García
Austin American-Statesman

Laura Handman
Davis Wright Tremaine

Norman Pearlstine
New York, New York

Thomas C. Rubin

Steering Committee

Wolf Blitzer
Theodore J. Boutrous, Jr.
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Lynette Clemetson
University of Michigan
Nikhil Deogun
Brunswick Group
Emilio Garcia-Ruiz
The San Francisco Chronicle
Josh Gerstein
Alex Gibney
Jigsaw Productions
Susan Goldberg
Gail Gove
James Grimaldi
The Wall Street Journal
Diego Ibargüen
Jeremy Jojola
9NEWS Colorado
Karen Kaiser
The Associated Press
Kimbriell Kelly
Los Angeles Times
David Lauter
Los Angeles Times
Colleen McCain Nelson
The McClatchy Company
James Neff
Philadelphia Inquirer
Bruce W. Sanford
BakerHostetler, Ret.
Charlie Savage
The New York Times
Jennifer Sondag
Bloomberg News
Nabiha Syed
The Markup
Adam Symson
The E.W. Scripps Company
Matt Thompson
The New York Times
Vickie Walton-James
Susan Zirinsky
CBS News

Honorary Leadership Council
J. Scott Applewhite
The Associated Press
Chip Bok
Creators Syndicate
Dahlia Lithwick
Tony Mauro
American Lawyer Media
Jane Mayer
The New Yorker
Andrea Mitchell
NBC News
Maggie Mulvihill
Boston University
Carol Rosenberg
The New York Times
Paul Steiger
Pierre Thomas
ABC News
Saundra Torry
Judy Woodruff
PBS/The NewsHour

Affiliations appear only for purposes of identification.

Stay informed by signing up for our mailing list

Keep up with our work by signing up to receive our monthly newsletter. We'll send you updates about the cases we're doing with journalists, news organizations, and documentary filmmakers working to keep you informed.