Skip to content

Missouri's Records Fee Hikes May Not Have Legal Foundation

Post categories

  1. Uncategorized
· Story link Missouri’s Department of Revenue has begun charging $7 for individual driver license records, up from $1.25, and…

· Story link

Missouri’s Department of Revenue has begun charging $7 for individual driver license records, up from $1.25, and it has stopped giving bulk discounts to data mining firms for less than a penny a record. The Associated Press reported that based on records it gathered under the state’s open-records law that the fee hikes are apparently intended to finance a new $70 million database. That justification is not allowed under state law. (5/26/08)