Reporters Committee to be honored with 2019 Chapultepec Grand Prize

Press Release | November 19, 2018

The Inter-American Press Association announced that the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press will receive the 2019 Chapultepec Grand Prize for its work to promote and defend the news media's right to exercise press freedom without restrictions.

"It's a tremendous honor for the Reporters Committee to be selected as the 2019 Chapultepec Grand Prize recipient by the Inter-American Press Association," said Bruce Brown, executive director of the Reporters Committee. "Defending the First Amendment and fighting for the newsgathering rights of journalists have been at the center of our mission for nearly 50 years. As the media landscape continues to evolve and threats to press freedom emerge like never before, it's imperative that we continue to expand our work. We are grateful for this recognition from our key ally, the IAPA."

The Chapultepec Grand Prize is the IAPA's principal distinction given annually to individuals or organizations for their defense and promotion of freedom of expression and of the press. Past winners include Arthur Sulzberger, Jr., Alberto Ibargüen, Anthony Lewis and the Newseum. Read more about the award.