Skip to content

Reporters Committee honors Rockefeller, Rosenberg, Sanford and Sulzberger with First Amendment Awards

Post categories

  1. Freedom of the Press Awards
The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press will honor four leaders in journalism and media law with its 2014…

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press will honor four leaders in journalism and media law with its 2014 First Amendment Awards, to be presented at a May 19 dinner and ceremony at The Pierre in New York City.

The honorees are:

Sharon Percy Rockefeller, president and CEO of WETA, Washington, D.C.
Rockefeller has led WETA, the flagship public media station in the nation’s capital and the second-largest producing station of new content for public television, since 1989. She was formerly on the Board of Directors for both the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and PBS.

Carol Rosenberg, military affairs correspondent, The Miami Herald
Rosenberg is the only journalist who has covered the Guantanamo Bay detention center and related controversies since before the first prisoners arrived there in January 2002. The former Supreme Allied Commander of Europe dubbed her the dean of the Guantanamo press corps.

Bruce W. Sanford, partner, BakerHostetler, Washington, D.C.
During a distinguished legal career spanning four decades, Sanford has been at the forefront of modern American libel and media law. He has represented major media outlets from television networks to major newspapers, magazine and book publishers.

Arthur O. Sulzberger, Jr. chairman and publisher, The New York Times
Sulzberger became publisher of The New York Times in 1992. During his tenure, The Times has earned 50 Pulitzer Prizes and provided its readers with innumerable examples of momentous journalism. He has shaped and implemented innovative print and online initiatives that enable the company to compete successfully in the global media marketplace.

Donald A. Baer, worldwide chair and CEO, Burson-Marsteller, and chairman, Penn Schoen Berland, and Donald E. Graham, chairman and CEO, Graham Holdings Company, are the First Amendment Awards Dinner co-chairs.

In addition, Kathleen Carroll, senior vice president and executive editor of The Associated Press, will be a featured dinner program speaker.

“Whether it’s by practice, leadership or counsel, Sharon Rockefeller, Carol Rosenberg, Bruce Sanford and Arthur Sulzberger represent the finest defenders of the First Amendment and freedom of information today. The Reporters Committee is delighted to recognize their important work with First Amendment Awards,” said Reporters Committee Steering Committee Chair Saundra Torry, editorial writer and a member of the editorial board at USA TODAY.

The Pierre is located at 21 East 61st St. (at 5th Ave.) in New York. The reception begins at 6:30 p.m. and the dinner program begins at 7:30 p.m. Dress is business attire. For more information about the honorees, the awards, and to purchase tables and tickets, please go online to

Reporters planning to cover the dinner should contact Debra Gersh Hernandez, Reporters Committee communications director, at or 703-807-2104. If special a/v requirements, such as a mult box, are required, please submit your request no later than Friday, May 16.

About the Reporters Committee

Founded in 1970, the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press offers free legal support to thousands of working journalists and media lawyers each year. It is a leader in the fight against persistent efforts by government officials to impede the release of public information, whether by withholding documents or threatening reporters with jail. In addition to its 24/7 Legal Defense Hotline, the Reporters Committee conducts cutting-edge legal research, publishes handbooks and guides on media law issues, files frequent friend-of-the-court legal briefs and offers challenging fellowships and internships for young lawyers and journalists. For more information, go to, or follow us on Twitter @rcfp.

Related Reporters Committee resources:

· Reporters Committee First Amendment Awards

Stay informed by signing up for our mailing list

Keep up with our work by signing up to receive our monthly newsletter. We'll send you updates about the cases we're doing with journalists, news organizations, and documentary filmmakers working to keep you informed.