Skip to content

2023 Freedom of the Press Awards

Dark purple image with a microphone icon made up of gemstones that says "Freedom of the Press Awards 2023." The graphic has the date and location of the awards: Wednesday, October 11 at the Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York City. The image has the Reporters Committee's logo in the bottom left corner.

The 2023 Freedom of the Press Awards will be held October 11, 2023 at the Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York. The cocktail reception begins at 6:00 p.m. Dinner and program are at 7:00 p.m.

Support the Freedom of the Press Awards

For information about sponsorship of the 2023 Freedom of the Press Awards, please see our sponsorship brochure, and fill out the online registration to reserve and/or purchase tables, tickets or make a donation in support of the Awards.

2023 Honorees

The 2023 Freedom of the Press Award winners are:

Career Achievement Award
Martha Minow, 300th Anniversary University Professor, Harvard University
Pierre G. Thomas, Chief Justice Correspondent, ABC News

Catalyst Award
Rachel Aston, Photographer, Las Vegas Review-Journal
Glenn Cook, Executive Editor, Las Vegas Review-Journal
Lizzie Johnson, Local Enterprise Reporter, The Washington Post

Local Champion Award
Rebecca Landsberry-Baker, Executive Director, Native American Journalists Association

Rising Star Award
Ashton R. Lattimore, Editor-in-Chief, Prism

Event Chairs

Kate Adams, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Apple
Theodore J. Boutrous, Jr., Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Linda Henry, CEO, Boston Globe Media


Presenting Sponsor


The Adams Wiser Family


Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP


Boston Globe Media
Chan Soon-Shiong Family Foundation
The Murray Fromson Family
Jenner & Block
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation


Amanda Bennett
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Emerson Collective
Kirkland & Ellis
The New York Times Company
Ben Heineman and Cristine Russell
Thomson Reuters
Weil Gotshal & Manges, LLP
Williams & Connolly LLP
WilmerHale LLP


ABC News
ALM Global, LLC
The Associated Press
Brunswick Group
Covington & Burling LLP
DCI Group
Dow Jones & Company, Inc.
The E.W Scripps Company
The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
News/Media Alliance
News Group, NBCUniversal
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Norman Pearlstine and Jane Boon
The Washington Post


CRC Advisors
FRONTLINE, produced by GBH in Boston
JP Morgan Chase
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Robert S. Rifkind
Bruce and Marilou Sanford
Michael Smith, Inc.
The Steinman Foundation & Steinman Communications/LNP Media
Wallace House Center for Journalists at the University of Michigan


A+E Networks
Baker & McKenzie
Ballard Spahr LLP
Robert A. Bertsche
David Boardman
Brechner Center for Advancement for the First Amendment, University of Florida
John Brewer
Andrew P. Bridges, Fenwick & West LLP
Bruce D. Brown and Amy Rifkind
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP
Carnegie Corporation of New York
Sewell Chan
Lynette Clemetson
Edelman Inc.
E.J. Dionne Jr.
Elevate Communications
Foley Hoag
Manny Garcia
Linda Greenhouse
John C. Henry
Kimberly-Clark Corporation
Lancaster County Local Journalism Fund
Keith and Deborah Lattimore
Barbara Leal
Thomas Leatherbury
Margaret Low and Kinsey Wilson
NewsGuard Technologies, Inc.
PNC Institutional Asset Management
Proskauer Rose LLP
Laura Quigg
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Pierre and Alyson Thomas
Vickie Walton-James
Inez Weinstein
Judy Woodruff

Apple Inc. logo in grayWith special gratitude to Apple Inc. for its support.

Event Details

The 2023 Freedom of the Press Awards will be held Wednesday, October 11, 2023, at the Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York City. The cocktail reception begins at 6:00 p.m. and the dinner begins at 7:00 p.m. The dress code is Business Attire.

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press takes the health and well-being of our guests seriously. Masks are welcome at the event. While proof of vaccination is not required, we ask that attendees be up-to-date on vaccinations. If you are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms or have recently tested positive, please do not attend. We will continue to monitor the COVID-19 situation and communicate any changes in our event protocols.

Stay informed by signing up for our mailing list

Keep up with our work by signing up to receive our monthly newsletter. We'll send you updates about the cases we're doing with journalists, news organizations, and documentary filmmakers working to keep you informed.