Skip to content

2024 Freedom of the Press Awards

Dark purple image with a microphone icon that says "Freedom of the Press Awards 2024." The graphic has the date and location of the awards: Wednesday, October 16 at the Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York City. The image has the Reporters Committee's logo in the bottom left corner.

The 2024 Freedom of the Press Awards will be held Oct. 16, 2024, at the Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York. The cocktail reception begins at 6:00 p.m. Dinner and program are at 7:00 p.m.

Support the Freedom of the Press Awards

Please see our sponsorship brochure to reserve and/or purchase sponsorships, tables, tickets, and advertisements, or to make a donation in support of the 2024 Freedom of the Press Awards.

2024 Honorees

The 2024 Freedom of the Press Award winners are:

Career Achievement Award
Stephen Paul Engelberg, Editor-in-Chief, ProPublica
Maria Hinojosa, Founder and President, Futuro Media

Catalyst Award
Josie Huang,
Reporter, LAist

Local Champion Award
Mazin Sidahmed, Co-Founder, Documented

Rising Star Award
Sisi Wei, Editor-in-Chief, The Markup

Pro Bono Service Award
Covington & Burling LLP

Event Chairs

Horacio Gutierrez, Senior Executive Vice President, Chief Legal and Compliance Officer of The Walt Disney Company
Almar Latour, Publisher of The Wall Street Journal and CEO of Dow Jones

Event Details

The dress code is Business Attire.

Stay informed by signing up for our mailing list

Keep up with our work by signing up to receive our monthly newsletter. We'll send you updates about the cases we're doing with journalists, news organizations, and documentary filmmakers working to keep you informed.