Skip to content

Temple University School of Media and Communications Dean David Boardman elected chair of Reporters Committee

Post categories

  1. Announcements
(Updated to include all Executive Committee elections.) David Boardman, dean of the Temple University School of Media and Communication, was…

(Updated to include all Executive Committee elections.)

David Boardman, dean of the Temple University School of Media and Communication, was elected chair of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press by members of the organization’s Steering Committee.

Elected as vice chair was Susan Goldberg, editor-in-chief of National Geographic Magazine and News Operations. Tony Mauro, U.S. Supreme Court correspondent for The National Law Journal, was elected secretary-treasurer.

Elected to the Executive Committee were: Stephen J. Adler, president and editor-in-chief at Reuters; Jane Mayer, staff writer for The New Yorker; Margaret Low Smith, vice president of The Atlantic and president of AtlanticLIVE; and Pierre Thomas, chief justice correspondent for ABC News.

Newly elected to the Steering Committee were: Manny Garcia, editor of The Naples (Fla.) Daily News; documentary filmmaker Alex Gibney of Jigsaw Productions; James V. Grimaldi, senior writer at The Wall Street Journal; Laura Handman, partner and co-chair of the Appellate Practice at Davis Wright Tremaine; Karen Kaiser, senior vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary at The Associated Press; David Lauter, Washington bureau chief for the Los Angeles Times; James Neff, Assistant Managing Editor for Investigations at Philadelphia Media News; Charlie Savage, Washington correspondent for The New York Times; and Ben Smith, editor-in-chief of BuzzFeed.

Re-elected to the Steering Committee were: J. Scott Applewhite, senior photojournalist for The Associated Press; Chip Bok, editorial cartoonist with Creators Syndicate; and Judy Woodruff, co-anchor and managing editor at PBS/The NewsHour.

In addition, ProPublica Executive Chairman Paul Steiger completed his second term on the Steering Committee and will serve as a senior advisor to the Reporters Committee.

More information about new and continuing Steering Committee members can be found on the Reporters Committee website (

About the Reporters Committee

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press was founded by leading journalists and media lawyers in 1970 when the nation’s news media faced an unprecedented wave of government subpoenas forcing reporters to name confidential sources. Today it provides pro bono legal representation, amicus curiae support, and other legal resources to protect First Amendment freedoms and the newsgathering rights of journalists. Funded by corporate, foundation and individual contributions, the Reporters Committee serves the nation’s leading news organizations; thousands of reporters, editors, and media lawyers; and many more who use our online and mobile resources. For more information, go to, or follow us on Twitter @rcfp.

Related Reporters Committee resources:

· Steering Committee

Stay informed by signing up for our mailing list

Keep up with our work by signing up to receive our monthly newsletter. We'll send you updates about the cases we're doing with journalists, news organizations, and documentary filmmakers working to keep you informed.