Skip to content

2019 Freedom of the Press Awards

2019 Honorees

The 2019 Freedom of the Press Award winners were David G. Bradley, Chairman of Atlantic Media; John Carreyrou, Pulitzer-winning investigative reporter at The Wall Street Journal; Andrea Mitchell, Chief foreign-affairs correspondent for NBC News and host of MSNBC’s “Andrea Mitchell Reports”; and April Ryan, White House correspondent and Washington bureau chief for American Urban Radio Networks and a political analyst for CNN.

Andrea Mitchell
April Ryan
David Bradley
John Carreyrou






Our 2019 Rising Stars are the founders of City Bureau — Harry Backlund, Andrea Hart, Bettina Chang, and Darryl Holliday. City Bureau is a Chicago-based nonprofit civic journalism lab that brings journalists and community members together in a collaborative spirit to produce equitable media coverage, encourage civic participation and hold powerful forces to account.

Bettina Chang
Darryl Holliday
Andrea Hart
Harry Backlund






If you weren’t able to attend the 2019 Freedom of the Press Awards, don’t worry. You can view photos from the night and watch our playlist below that includes the remarks from the evening:


Our Sponsors

The 2019 Freedom of the Press Awards are generously presented by:

Leadership Sponsors

 Jeff and Mary Zients

Cocktail Reception Sponsor
Dessert Reception Sponsor

With Special Appreciation

Hollywood Foreign Press Association



Roger and Victoria Sant Trust


A&E Networks
ALM Media
Scott Asen
AT&T, Inc.
The Associated Press
BakerHostetler LLP
Blavatnik Family Foundation
Bloomberg Philanthropies
Katherine and David Bradley
BuzzFeed News
CBS News
Boykin Curry
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Klein College of Media and Communication at Temple University
The Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Vincent and Anne Mai
Sharon Marcil and Tom Monahan
McKinsey & Company
National Geographic
The New York Times
Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation, Inc.
Open Society Foundations
Press Freedom Defense Fund and Democracy Fund
Tribune Media Company Charitable Foundation
The Washington Post

The Reporters Committee is grateful for the longtime institutional support of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

Additional sponsorship opportunities are still available! Please join the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press in supporting journalists and news organizations as they face unprecedented challenges to doing their jobs to keep the public informed by sponsoring the Freedom of the Press Awards.

The Freedom of the Press Awards dinner brings together the best and brightest in journalism and media law to celebrate press freedom. More than 500 attended the 2018 event and we are expecting an even larger turnout in 2019, with a goal of raising $1 million to advance press freedom.

Festivities will feature a VIP reception, general reception, cartoon auction, seated dinner, video presentations, honoree recognition and a dessert buffet. We invite you to provide important financial support to the Reporters Committee by becoming a sponsor for the 2019 Freedom of the Press Awards Dinner.

Sponsorship levels come with complimentary ads in our digital program, but you may also purchase an ad a la carte.

You can easily and securely purchase a sponsorship here. Please contact Jenn Topper at if you have any questions.

Table and Ticket Purchases

Tables and tickets for the 2019 Freedom of the Press Awards are available for purchase! If you can’t join us at the Awards in May, we also offer the opportunity to purchase a congratulatory digital ad. Again this year we are offering a limited number of Young Professional tickets to attendees under 35 who would like to attend.

Click to purchase a sponsorship or table. You can also pay by check by filling out this form, and mailing it back.