Steering Committee

Members of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press Steering Committee serve three-year terms, with a third of the members being elected each year. A six-person Executive Committee acts as direct advisors to Reporters Committee senior staff.

Executive Committee

Pierre Thomas
ABC News

Vice Chair
David Boardman
Temple University School of
Media and Communication

Susan Goldberg
National Geographic

John C. Henry

Margaret Low Smith
The Atlantic

Saundra Torry

Steering Committee

Stephen J. Adler

J. Scott Applewhite
The Associated Press

Wolf Blitzer

Chip Bok
Creators Syndicate

Jan Crawford
CBS News

Michael Duffy
Time Magazine

Richard S. Dunham
Tsinghua University, Beijing

Ashlea Ebeling
Forbes Media

Nat Hentoff
Universal Uclick

Dahlia Lithwick

Tony Mauro
The National Law Journal

Jane Mayer
The New Yorker

Doyle McManus
The Los Angeles Times

Andrea Mitchell
NBC News

Scott Montgomery

Maggie Mulvihill
New England Center for Investigative Reporting

Jeffrey Rosen
The National Constitution Center

Carol Rosenberg
The Miami Herald

Thomas C. Rubin
Seattle, Wash.

Eric Schmitt
The New York Times

Jennifer Sondag
Bloomberg News

Paul Steiger

Judy Woodruff
PBS/The NewsHour


Affiliations appear only for purposes of identification.