Skip to content

2. Time limits for filing appeals

Posts

  • Alaska

    The time for filing an appeal expires 30 days after the entry of judgment by the superior court. Note that, while an attorney fee award may be the basis for a separate related appeal, it is entered subsequent to the final order or judgment. The date of the judgment controls, and the time for appealing the ruling on the merits may run before the time for filing an appeal concerning fees has run.

    view more
  • Arizona

    Normal timing for appeals is set forth in the Arizona Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure.  Currently, “[a] party must file a notice of appeal under Rule 8 not later than 30 days after the entry of the judgment from which the appeal is taken, except as otherwise provided in this Rule or unless the law provides a different time.”  Ariz. R. Civ. App. P. 9.

    view more
  • Arkansas

    Notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days of the entry of judgment, unless a post-trial motion is filed. In that event, the notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the trial court’s disposition of the motion or within 30 days of the date on which the motion is deemed disposed of as a matter of law. Ark. R. App. P.–Civ. 3 & 4. The record on appeal must be filed with the clerk of the Supreme Court within 90 days of the filing of the notice of appeal, though an extension of time may be obtained from the trial court. Ark. R. App. P.–Civ. 5.

    view more
  • California

    Upon a final judgment, any party wishing to appeal must file a jurisdictional notice of appeal in the trial court on or before the earlier of: (1) 60 days after the date of mailing by the clerk of the court of the "notice of entry" of judgment; (2) 60 days after the date of service of "notice of entry" of judgment by any party upon the party filing the notice of appeal, or by the party filing the notice of appeal; or (3) 180 days after the date of entry of the judgment. Cal. R. Ct. 8.104. Thereafter, the appellant must forward the trial transcript, papers and other records in the court's file that he or she wishes the appellate court to have, and then file the opening appellate brief.

    view more
  • Colorado

    An appeal to the Court of Appeals must be filed within 45 days of the date of the final order denying the injunction in the district court. C.A.R. 4(a).
    A petition to the Supreme Court under C.A.R. 21 should be filed at the earliest practicable time. There is no time limitation on the petition, but it must be "within a reasonable time" of the district court's order.

    view more
  • Connecticut

    See Records Outline at V.E.

    view more
  • Delaware

    Pursuant to Delaware Supreme Court Rule 6, a party has 30 days to appeal.

    view more
  • District of Columbia

    Not specifically addressed.

    view more
  • Georgia

    A notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after entry of final judgment. See O.C.G.A. § 5-6-38.

    view more
  • Hawaii

    Notice of appeal in civil cases must be filed within 30 days after entry of the judgment or appealable order. Haw. R. App. P. 4.

    view more
  • Illinois

    The losing party has 30 days from the day the circuit court's order is entered to appeal the decision. See Ill. S. Ct. Rule 303(a).

    view more
  • Indiana

    A notice of appeal must be filed with the trial court clerk within 30 days after the entry of a final judgment or within 30 days after the notation of an interlocutory order. Ind. R. App. P. 9(A)(1); 14. The notice of appeal has replaced the praecipe for appeal. App. R. 2(I); 9(A)(4). Failure to file the notice of appeal means that the appellate court does not have jurisdiction, Neu v. Gibson, 968 N.E.2d 262, 269 (Ind. Ct. App. 2012), and will forfeit the right to appeal, App. R. 9(A)(5).

    Within 30 days of a party filing of a notice of appeal, the trial court clerk must assemble the Clerk’s Record, which consists of the chronological case summary and all papers, pleadings, documents, orders, judgments and other materials filed in the trial court. App. R. 2(E), 10(B). Within 45 days of the appellant filing the Notice of Appeal, the court reporter must file the Transcript with the trial court clerk. App. R. 11(B). Briefing deadlines are tied to the date the record is filed. App. R. 45.

    view more
  • Iowa

    Appeal must be taken within thirty days of entry of judgment. Iowa R. App. P. 6.101.

    view more
  • Kansas

    Thirty days from final judgment. K.S.A. 60-2101(d).

    view more
  • Kentucky

    The notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the Circuit Court's final judgment. See Ky. R. Civ. P. 73.02.

    view more
  • Louisiana

    Within 60 days following expiration of new trial period or denial of new trial.

    view more
  • Maine

    An appeal must be initiated by filing a notice of appeal within 21 days following the entry of judgment. M.R.App.P. 2(b)(3).

    view more
  • Maryland

    A party may appeal from a circuit court judgment within 30 days after judgment is entered. Md. Rule 8-202.

    view more
  • Michigan

    No time limit is expressed generally. Nevertheless, if the relief sought is invalidation of a decision of a public body, the action must be commenced within 60 days after the approved minutes are made available to the public, except in the case of certain contracts, bids, assessments and issuance of bonds and evidences of indebtedness, where the action must be commenced within 30 days. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 15.270(3).

    view more
  • Montana

    That appeal must be filed within thirty days of notice of entry of judgment from the district court with respect to all public bodies except the State of Montana. A district court order in which the State of Montana is a defendant or respondent may be appealed within sixty days following notice of entry of judgment.

    view more
  • Nebraska

    Notice of appeal and docket fee must be filed with clerk of district court within one month after judgment. Neb. Rev. Stat. §25-1912(Reissue 2016). For time limits on filing transcript, bill of exceptions and briefs in Court of Appeals, see Neb. Rev. Stat. §25-1912 (Reissue 2016) and Neb. Sup. Ct. R. §§2-101, 2-102, 2-104, 2-105 and 2-109.

    view more
  • Nevada

    The time limit for filing an appeal is within thirty (30) days after the notice of entry of judgment is served. NRAP 4.

    view more
  • New Hampshire

    Thirty days from the date on the notice of the decision on the merits.

    view more
  • New Jersey

    The time limit for appeal to the Appellate Division is 45 days from entry of the final judgment or Order. Rule 2:4-1. A petition for certification seeking review by the Supreme Court of a final judgment of the Appellate Division must be filed within 20 days of entry of final judgment. Rule 2:13-3.

    view more
  • New Mexico

    The time for filing an appeal is 30 days from the date of the final ruling by the District Court.

    view more
  • North Carolina

    An appeal from a judgment or order in a civil action must be taken within 30 days after its entry. N.C.R. App. P. 3(c) (1997).

    view more
  • North Dakota

    In a civil case, the notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the district court within sixty days of the date of service of notice of entry of the judgment or order.

    view more
  • Ohio

    Thirty days from the date of the common pleas court judgment appealed from. Ohio R. App. P. 4.

    Forty-five days from the date of the court of appeals judgment appealed from. Ohio Supreme Court Rules of Practice, Rule II, § 2(A)(1).

    view more
  • Oklahoma

    Petition in error must be filed within thirty (30) days from final judgment or order. 12 O.S. Ch. 15, App. 2, Rule 1.15(a).

    view more
  • Oregon

    An appeal from a circuit court decision must be made within 30 days after entry of judgment.

    view more
  • Rhode Island

    Appeals must be filed within twenty (20) days of final judgment.  R.I. Sup. Ct. App. p. 4.

    view more
  • South Carolina

    A notice of appeal must be served and filed within 30 days from receipt of the trial court order. Rule 203 (b)(1), S.C. Appellate Court Rules.

    view more
  • Tennessee

    The time limit for filing an appeal is within 30 days after the date of entry of the final judgment. Tenn. R. App. P. 4(a).

    view more
  • Texas

    The normal rules for appellate actions found in the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure apply.

    view more
  • Utah

    An appeal must be filed with the appellate court within 30 days after entry of the district court’s judgment or order. See Utah R. App. P. 4(a).

    view more
  • Vermont

    Any appeal of the trial court’s decision, which is to the Vermont Supreme Court, must be accomplished within 30 days of the decision using ordinary appellate procedures and rules. 1 V.S.A. § 319(b) provides that, as with proceedings before the superior court, appeals shall be “expedited in every way,” including being assigned “for argument at the earliest practicable date.”

    view more
  • Virginia

    Appeals from General District Court to Circuit Court must be taken within ten days of judgment. Va. Code Ann. § 16.1-106. A notice of appeal to the Supreme Court from a circuit court must be filed within thirty days of final judgment. See Va. Supreme Court Rule 5:9.

    view more
  • West Virginia

    An appeal to the state Supreme Court must be filed within four months after the challenged order was issued by the circuit court.

    view more
  • Wyoming

    A party must file a notice of appeal within 30 days from the entry of the appealable order. Wyo. R. Civ. P. 2.01.

    view more