Skip to content

2. Time limits for filing appeals

Posts

  • Alaska

    The ordinary time limit for appealing a final, appealable ruling by the superior court is 30 days. Note that if there is to be an appeal concerning an award of attorney fees in connection with this matter, the time limit for appealing that ruling is separate, and the time for appealing the underlying ruling on the merits may expire before the time for filing an appeal of the attorney fee decision.

    view more
  • Arizona

    (This section is blank. See the point above.)

    view more
  • Arkansas

    Notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days of the entry of judgment, unless a post-trial motion is filed. Ark. R. App. P.–Civ. 4. In that event, the notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the trial court’s disposition of the motion or within 30 days of the date on which the motion is deemed denied by operation of law. Ark. R. App. P.–Civ. 3 & 4. The record on appeal must be filed with the clerk of the Supreme Court within 90 days of the filing of the notice of appeal, though an extension of time may be obtained from the trial court. Ark. R. App. P.–Civ. 5.

    view more
  • California

    The petition for extraordinary writ (writ of mandate) must be filed within 20 days after service on the party of the notice of entry of order (plus an additional 5 days if service is by mail), or within such further time (not exceeding an additional 20 days) as the trial court for good cause may allow. Cal. Gov't Code § 6259(c). An order of the trial court is not automatically stayed and any party wishing a stay must affirmatively seek one. Id.

    view more
  • Colorado

    An appeal to the Court of Appeals must be filed within 45 days of the date of the final order in the district court. C.A.R. 4(a).
    A petition to the Supreme Court under C.A.R. 21 should be filed at the earliest practicable time. There is no time limitations on the petition, but it must be "within a reasonable time" of the district court's order.

    view more
  • Connecticut

    Appeals must be filed within 30 days.

    view more
  • Delaware

    A party has 30 days to file an appeal. Del. Supr. Ct. R. 6.

    view more
  • District of Columbia

    The rules governing appeals from the District of Columbia Superior Court apply.

    view more
  • Georgia

    A notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after entry of final judgment. See O.C.G.A. § 5-6-38.

    view more
  • Hawaii

    Notice of appeal in civil cases must be filed within 30 days after entry of the judgment or appealable order. Haw. R. App. P. 4.

    view more
  • Idaho

    Appeals must be filed within 42 days after the entry of the appealable judgment. Idaho Appellate Rule 14.

    view more
  • Illinois

    Rules require filing in the circuit court a notice of appeal within 30 days of the court's decision denying the request.

    view more
  • Indiana

    A notice of appeal must be filed with the trial court clerk within 30 days after the entry of a final judgment or within 30 days after the notation of an interlocutory order. Ind. R. App. P. 9(A)(1); 14. The notice of appeal has replaced the praecipe for appeal. App. R. 2(I); 9(A)(4). Failure to file the notice of appeal means that the appellate court does not have jurisdiction, Neu v. Gibson, 968 N.E.2d 262, 269 (Ind. Ct. App. 2012), and will forfeit the right to appeal, App. R. 9(A)(5).

    Within 30 days of a party filing of a notice of appeal, the trial court clerk must assemble the Clerk’s Record, which consists of the chronological case summary and all papers, pleadings, documents, orders, judgments and other materials filed in the trial court. App. R. 2(E), 10(B). Within 45 days of the appellant filing the Notice of Appeal, the court reporter must file the Transcript with the trial court clerk. App. R. 11(B). Briefing deadlines are tied to the date the record is filed. App. R. 45.

    view more
  • Iowa

    Appeal must be taken within thirty days of entry of judgment. Iowa R. App. P. Rule 6.101.

    view more
  • Kansas

    Thirty days from final judgment.

    view more
  • Kentucky

    The notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the Circuit Court's final appealable decision. See Ky. R. Civ. P. 73.02.

    view more
  • Louisiana

    60 days from end of new trial time period or denial of new trial.

    view more
  • Maine

    An appeal must be initiated by filing a notice of appeal within 21 days following the entry of judgment. M.R.App.P. 2(b)(3).

    view more
  • Maryland

    The time limit for filing an appeal is thirty days after the entry of a final judgment. Md. Rule 8-202.

    view more
  • Michigan

    Usual time limits for appeals under Michigan Court Rules apply. The FOIA, however, specifies that court actions and appeals therefrom must be expedited in every way. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 15.240(5).  A trial court’s order denying a motion for summary judgment and dismissing the only claim is a final appealable order. See Mlive Media Group v. City of Grand Rapids, 321 Mich. App. 263 (2017).

    view more
  • Montana

    The time for filing a notice of appeal from a district court decision denying access to state government documents is sixty days. All other district court decisions must be appealed within thirty days of notice of entry of judgment denying access. Rule 5(a)(1), M. R. App. P.

    view more
  • Nebraska

    Notice of appeal and docket fee must be filed with clerk of district court within one month after judgment. Neb. Rev. Stat. §25-1912 (Reissue 2016). For time limits on filing transcript, bill of exceptions and briefs in Court of Appeals, see Neb. Rev. Stat. §25-1912 (Reissue 2016) and Neb. Sup. Ct. R.§§ 2-104, 2-105 and 2-109.

    view more
  • Nevada

    The time limit for filing an appeal is within thirty (30) days after written notice of entry of the final judgment is served. NRAP 4(a)(1).

    view more
  • New Hampshire

    An appeal must be filed within thirty days of the date on the clerk's written notice of the decision on the merits.

    view more
  • New Jersey

    The time limit for appeal from a decision of the Superior Court, Law Division is 45 days from the entry of the final judgment or order. Rule 2:4-1. A petition for certification seeking review by the Supreme Court of a final judgment of the Appellate Division must be filed within 20 days of entry of final judgment. Rule 2:13-3.

    view more
  • New Mexico

    Generally, thirty days but may be subject to exceptions depending on various procedures.

    view more
  • North Carolina

    An appeal from a judgment or order in a civil action must be taken within 30 days after its entry. N.C.R. App. P. 8(c).

    view more
  • North Dakota

    In a civil case, the notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the district court within sixty days of the date of service of notice of entry of the judgment or order.

    view more
  • Ohio

    To appeal to the Court of Appeals, the time limit is 30 days from the date of entry of the contested judgment. Ohio R. App. P. 4(A).  To appeal to the Supreme Court, the time limit is 45 days. Ohio Sup Ct Rule 2.2(A)(1).  If the appeal is due to a split among the Ohio Courts of Appeal then the time limit is 30 days.  Ohio Sup Ct Rule 2.2(A)(1), 4.1.

    view more
  • Oklahoma

    A petition in error must be filed within thirty (30) days from a final judgment or order. 12 O.S. Ch. 15, App. 2, Rule 1.15(a).

    view more
  • Oregon

    As a general matter, an appeal from a circuit court decision must be made within 30 days after the date of entry of the final order or judgment in the trial court proceeding.

    view more
  • Rhode Island

    Appeal must be filed within twenty days of final judgment.  R.I. Supreme Court Rule of Appellate Procedure 4.

    view more
  • South Carolina

    A notice of appeal must be served and filed within 30 days of receipt of the trial court order and appellant has 30 days thereafter to order a copy of the trial transcript. The schedule for briefing is established by the South Carolina Appellate Court Rules.

    view more
  • South Dakota

    Within 30 days. SDCL §15-26A-6.

    view more
  • Tennessee

    The time limit for filing an appeal is within 30 days after the date of entry of the final judgment. Tenn. R. App. P. 4(a). Appeals must be made pursuant to the Tennessee Rules of Appellate Procedure, which make no distinctions for open records cases. Appeal as of right would be to the Tennessee Court of Appeals. Thereafter, permissive appeal may be made to the Tennessee Supreme Court within 60 days after the Court of Appeals' decision.

    view more
  • Texas

    The normal rules for appellate actions found in the Texas Rules of Civil and Appellate Procedure apply.

    view more
  • Utah

    A notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after entry of judgment. See Utah R. App. P. 4(a).

    view more
  • Vermont

    Any appeal of the trial court’s decision, which is to the Vermont Supreme Court, must be accomplished within 30 days of the decision using ordinary appellate procedures and rules. 1 V.S.A. § 319(b) provides that, as with proceedings before the superior court, appeals shall be “expedited in every way,” including being assigned “for argument at the earliest practicable date.”

    view more
  • Virginia

    Appeals from General District Court to Circuit Court must be taken within ten days of judgment. Va. Code Ann. § 16.1-106. Notice of appeal to the Supreme Court from Circuit Court must be filed within 30 days of final judgment. Va. Supreme Court Rule 5:17.

    view more
  • West Virginia

    The losing party has four months from the entry of the circuit court's ruling to appeal to the state Supreme Court. W. Va. Code § 58-5-4. However, the trial court judge may, prior to the expiration of such period of four months, enter an order to extend and re-extend the appeal period for up to two months, for good cause shown, if a request for preparation of a trial transcript was made by the appellant within thirty days of the entry of such judgment, decree or order. Id.

    view more
  • Wyoming

    A party must file a notice of appeal within 30 days from the entry of the appealable order. Wyo. R. Civ. P. 2.01.

    view more